1 - The Bible

The Bible is known to Jews as the "Tanakh", an acronym of Torah (Pentateuch), Nevi'im (Prophets) and Ketuvim (Writings), the three parts of the Hebrew Bible. The Torah comprises Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy; the Prophets are divided into the Former Prophets (Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings) and the Latter Prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah. Ezekiel and the XII Minor Prophets); and the Writings are Psalms, Job, Proverbs, Ruth, Song of Songs, etc.

Six double folios from a beautiful Hebrew Bible, copied between the end of the thirteenth century and the beginning of the fourteenth in a German region, contain parts of the biblical book of Jeremiah. The Hebrew text is written in a square ashkenazi (north-european) script, alternating verse by verse with the Aramaic of the Targum, the oldest translation of the Bible. In the top and bottom margins, written in a smaller script, is the masora magna, and between the two columns on each page the masora parva, containing the notes of some of the Jewish scholars of the first millennium CE, known as the Masoretes.

Sometimes the masora magna is arranged in delicate ornamental motifs as in mss. B.2.2 and B.2.3